

Basel Peace Office Annual Meeting 2023

swige peace /// Seminar für

Wednesday December 20, 2022

15:30 – 17:00 (Central European Time)

Draft Minutes

1. Present:

Prof Dr Andreas Nidecker, Marzhan Nurzhan, Alexandra Wandel, Marie Biermann, Margareta Kiener Nellen, Lukas Ott

2. Apologies:

Daniel Rietiker, Professor Lukas Kundert, Rudolf Reichsteiner, Vanda Proskova, Michaela Sorenson.

3. Minutes of the 2022 Annual Meeting

The minutes were approved as an accurate record of the meeting.

4. Report of the President:

Prof Dr Andreas Nidecker presented his report as President of the Basel Peace Office. There was some discussion about Basel Peace Office in-person events in Basel. *The report was adopted.*

5. Report of the Director:

Alyn Ware presented his report as Director of the Basel Peace Office. He spoke to some of the sections of the report, in particular the sections on the PACEY Award the sections on new programs – Legal Alternatives to War (LAW not War), preparatory work for the UN Summit of the Future and Mobilizing an Earth Governance Alliance.

The report was adopted.

6. Financial Report

Alyn Ware presented the Financial Report. He explained key items of both income and expenses, including some income and expenses for 2023 that was outstanding (not received or paid as at Dec 20 but likely to be received/paid before the end of the financial year). The draft financial report was amended to reflect the affirmation from World Future Council that they would be making a donation to BPO for 2023.

The report as amended was adopted.

7. Election of officers

Alyn presented the proposed list of Board Members, Executive Committee and Advisory Board Members (see appendix 1). The list included a number of current members (in black below) whose positions would be renewed, plus some proposed additional members of the Advisory Board (in red below) who would be invited to join if adopted on the list.

As the Health Department of the Basel-Stadt Kanton is no long a financial partner in BPO, from 2024 there will no longer be a representative of this department on the board. The proposed new Advisory Board members are from organizations with which we partner on some of our programs.

The list of officers (as indicated in Appendix 1) was adopted.

8. Open Discussion: Opportunities for Switzerland to advance peace, climate protection and nuclear disarmament in 2024

The discussion on this topic was combined with a discussion on the draft work program for 2024 (see item 9)

9. Approval of the work program for 2024

Alyn presented the draft work program and list of key events BPO would organise in 2024. The discussion focused a lot on events in Basel, Bern and Geneva, including the proposed event for May 24, International Women's Day for Peace and Disarmament. Also, a new item (not on the draft work program) was discussed on Basel Peace Office engagement in the Swiss International Cooperation Forum in April. There was also discussion of a new program item for Basel – our partnership with World Future Council on the 2024 Future Policy Award which will be on **Peace for future generations.**

The work program, as amended, was adopted

10. Approval of the budget

Alyn presented the draft budget for 2024. He explained some of the differences between 2023 and 2024, including the drop in funding likely from Quaker Peace and Service New Zealand and the new budget item for the Future Policy Award, funded from the World Future Council. *The draft budget was approved.*

11. End of meeting

The meeting ended at 17:10

Appendix 1: Board Members 2024

President: Andreas Nidecker

Members of the Board

- Andreas Nidecker IPPNW/PSR Switzerland
- Laurent Goetschel Swisspeace
- Daniel Rietiker Association of Swiss Lawyers for Nuclear Disarmament
- Lukas Ott Basel-Stadt Kanton, Department of the President
- Alexandra Wandel World Future Council
- Jonathan Granoff Global Security Institute
- Margareta Kiener Nellen Parliamentarians for Nuclear Non-proliferation and Disarmament (PNND)
- Tarja Cronberg Middle Powers Initiative/PNND
- Alyn Ware (ex officio) Director, Basel Peace Office
- Marzhan Nurzhan (ex officio) Deputy Director, Basel Peace Office

Executive Committee

- Andreas Nidecker
- Laurent Goetschel
- Daniel Rietiker
- Lukas Ott

Advisory Board Members

- Marianne Baitsch Women for Peace
- Gunter Baitsch Swiss PSR
- Marie Biermann *World Future Council*
- Emilie Gaillard Normandy Chair for Peace
- Marie-Claire Graf Youth Negotiators Academy
- Neshan Gunasekera World Future Council/Earth Trusteeship Initiative
- Robert Hilty United Nations Association of Switzerland
- Claudio Knusli Swiss PSR
- Lukas Kundert Basel-Stadt Reformed Church

- Francine John-Calame PNND
- Nicole Morellini Basel-Stadt Kanton
- Isabel Prinzing Swisspeace
- Vanda Proskova PragueVision Institute for Sustainable Security
- Rudolf Rechsteiner PNND
- Beppe Savary-Borioli Swiss PSR
- Jule Schnakenberg World's Youth for Climate Justice
- Ivan Siluianov Youth Fusion
- John Vlasto World Federalist Movement