

Basel Peace Office Annual Meeting 2021

Tuesday December 14, 2021

16:00 – 17:30 (Central European Time)

Minutes

1. Present

Andreas Nidecker (Chair), Laurent Goetschel, Lukas Ott, Philip Huebner, Alexandra Wandel, Jonathan Granoff, Tarja Cronberg, Alyn Ware, Marzhan Nurzhan, Marianne Baitsch, Daniel Rietiker, Claudio Knusli.

2. Minutes of the 2020 Annual Meeting

The minutes were adopted.

3. Report of the President

Prof Nidecker MD presented his <u>report</u> as President. The report included a strong focus on Basel Peace Office youth programs including the success of the PACEY Award. The report was adopted with acclamation.

4. Report of the Director

Alyn Ware presented his <u>report</u> as Director. It covered a range of BPO projects including Abolition 2000, UNFOLD ZERO and UN Disarmament Days, Nuclear Weapons and the Right to Life, Engaging youth, the Nuclear Games platform, Engaging Parliamentarians and Mayors, Move the Nuclear Weapons Money, the Climate / Nuclear Disarmament Nexus and Regional initiatives including Nuclear Weapon Free Zones. The report was adopted with acclamation.

5. Financial Report

Alyn Ware presented the <u>Financial report</u>. There was some discussion on funding sources and on the capacity for Basel Peace Office to undertake such a comprehensive work program and achieve so much on very little funding support. The report was adopted.

6. Election of officers

The following officers were elected unanimously:

- President: Andreas Nidecker
- Members of the Board
 - Andreas Nidecker IPPNW/PSR Switzerland
 - Laurent Goetschel Swisspeace
 - Daniel Rietiker Association of Swiss Lawyers for Nuclear Disarmament
 - Lukas Ott Basel-Stadt Kanton, Department of the President
 - Philip Huebner Basel-Stadt Kanton, Health Department
 - Alexandra Wandel World Future Council
 - Jonathan Granoff Global Security Institute
 - Margareta Kiener Nellen Parliamentarians for Nuclear Non-proliferation and Disarmament (PNND)

- Tarja Cronberg Middle Powers Initiative/ Parliamentarians for Nuclear Nonproliferation and Disarmament
- Alyn Ware (ex officio)
- Marzhan Nurzhan (ex officio)

- Executive Committee

- Andreas Nidecker
- Laurent Goetschel
- Daniel Rietiker
- Lukas Ott

- Advisory Members

- Marianne Baitsch Women for Peace
- Gunter Baitsch Swiss PSR
- Claudio Knusli Swiss PSR
- Francine John-Calame PNND
- Nicole Morellini Basel-Stadt Kanton
- Isabel Prinzing Swisspeace
- Vanda Proskova PragueVision Institute for Sustainable Security/PNND
- Rudolf Rechsteiner PNND
- Beppe Savary-Borioli Swiss PSR
- Rob Van Riet World Future Council

7. Approval of the work program for 2022

Alyn presented the <u>draft work program for 2022</u>. There was discussion on some of the projects including the PACEY Award, Mayors for Peace, the Parliamentary handbook and the nuclear weapons and human rights program. The draft work program was adopted.

8. Approval of the budget

Alyn presented the <u>draft budget for 2022</u>. The budget was adopted.

9. Other business

There was a discussion about the move of Swisspeace to K-Haus to take place next year (2022). Laurent confirmed that once K-Haus is opened and Swisspeace is re-established there, Basel Peace Office will be able to also move there, on the basis of shared desk usage and without storage space. K-Haus might also be a suitable venue for the 2022 PACEY Award follow-up event in November.