

through nuclear aboliton











# **Basel Peace Office Annual Meeting 2020**

# Thursday December 10, 2020

16:00 – 17:30 (Central European Time). Meeting held by zoom.

#### Minutes

# 1. Participants

Andreas Nidecker (Chair), Laurent Goetschel, Lukas Ott, Philipp Huebner, Alexandra Wandel, Vanda Proskova, Marzhan Nurzhan, Michaela Sorensen, Arthur Duforest, Daniel Rietiker, Ruedi Rechsteiner, Francine John, Tarja Cronberg, Christoph Jaschek, Margret Kiener Nellen, Jonathan Granoff.

# 2. Apologies

Rob van Riet

# 3. Minutes of the 2019 Annual Meeting

The minutes were approved.

### 4. Report of the President

Prof Dr (med) Andreas Nidecker, President of the Basel Peace Office, presented his report. The report was accepted. A vote of thanks to Dr Nidecker for his leadership of the Basel Peace Office was moved and adopted.

#### 5. Report of the Director

Alyn Ware, Director of the Basel Peace Office presented his report. The report was accepted. A vote of thanks to Mr Ware for his work managing the Basel Peace Office programs was moved and adopted.

#### 6. Financial Report

Alyn Ware, Director of the Basel Peace Office presented the Financial Report for 2020. There was some discussion of the very low budget for the considerable amount of work/activity and high quality of the programs. The low budget is due to very little funding available for these types of programs. The high amount of work was achieved without any salaried staff, but through the work of volunteers (including board members), consultants and interns. The Financial Report was accepted and adopted.

#### 7. Election of officers

The following officers were approved with unanimous support

President: Andreas Nidecker

#### Members of the Board

- Andreas Nidecker IPPNW/PSR Switzerland
- Laurent Goetschel Swisspeace
- Daniel Rietiker Association of Swiss Lawyers for Nuclear Disarmament
- Lukas Ott Basel-Stadt Kanton, Department of the President
- Philip Huebner Basel-Stadt Kanton, Health Department

- Alexandra Wandel World Future Council
- Jonathan Granoff Global Security Institute
- Tarja Cronberg Middle Powers Initiative
- Margareta Kiener Nellen Parliamentarians for Nuclear Non-proliferation and Disarmament
- Alyn Ware (ex officio)
- Marzhan Nurzhan (ex officio)

#### **Executive Committee**

- Andreas Nidecker
- Laurent Goetschel
- Daniel Rietiker
- Lukas Ott

# **Advisory Members**

- Marianne Baitsch
- Gunter Baitsch
- Claudio Knusli
- Francine John-Calame
- Rudolf Rechsteiner
- Daniela Schlettwein-Gsell
- Nicole Morellini
- Isabel Prinzing
- Rob van Riet

#### 8. Work program for 2021

Alyn Ware presented the draft work program for 2021. The program was developed on the assumption that most events for the first half of 2021 will continue to be held as virtual events due to the pandemic, with a likely return to physical events in the second half of the year. The work program also includes the list of organisations/networks in which Basel Peace Office would maintain membership or apply for membership. *The draft work program was adopted.* 

# 9. Approval of the budget

Alyn Ware presented the budget for 2021. The budget is based on the work program for 2021. Alyn noted that 2020 is the final year of the three-year funding from Grassroots Foundation, but that we are hopeful for funding from one or two alternative foundations. *The budget was approved.* 

# 10. Closure of the meeting

The meeting was closed at 17:20